Young Guru Interviews Just Blaze

The folks over at HardKnockTV got Just Blaze and Young Guru to interview each other. Just speaks on his “Higher“, EDM and reflects on Dame Dash and those jerseys. Los Jets? Young Guru speaks on visualizing records before sampling, recalls the recording process of Jay-Z’s “Song Cry” and more.

UPDATE: Pt. 2 below with Just Blaze and Young Guru reflecting on the early Roc-A-Fella days and their previous work.

Rate This:
Submit No Ratings
  • I love urban intellectual videos like this. The culture needs more like this…….

  • Pingback: Young Guru Interviews Just Blaze | Hip Hop WorldWide()

  • King E

    So much respect for these guys!

  • D Twice

    How does this have barely any comments. These two are Hip Hop Legends.

  • Rozay

    Just Blaze is the Jason Collins of hip hop producers

  • LoverofHipHop

    This was dope. I agree with @7thEmerson more shit like this needs to be out there.

  • I Love these interviews from Hardknock TV! dope stuff

  • AyYyyy

    Born Sinner Review:
    1. Villuminati A- // This is vintage Cole, real hunger rap with good worldplay over an up tempo beat. I really like the strings too. Good way to start the album.
    2. Skit
    3. Land of Snakes C // Samples OutKasts ‘Da. Art of Storytellin part 1′ and fails. Essentially made the same beat over just not as good. Lyrically average, nothing special.
    4. Power Trip: A- // We’ve all heard it before, good choice for a single, great beat and feature.
    5. Mo Money Interlude C // Short interlude with looped synthy beat, not very impressive. Subject matter discusses how money rules everything.
    6. Trouble C // A decent song, decent beat and lyrics but Cole singings just sounds forced and not good.
    7. Runaway B- // Really nice beat, lyrics and concept but Cole singing the hook again is both hard to listen to and boring, kind of reminds me of Mos Def singing just not as good, lol.
    8. She Knows B- // Average beat and lyrics but Cole ONCE AGAIN tries to sing and IT DOESNT WORK. Tracks 6-8 in my opinion are all basically the same song.
    9. Rich Niggaz B // Nice beat and concept, altho I think the drums are a little weak. Vintage Cole rapping from both his and someone else’s perspective.
    10. Skit
    11. Forbidden Fruit B+ // Uses same sample as Tribes Electric Relaxation but he makes his own and it works. Concept is good and lyrics also. I understand that he wanted to be the only rapper on the album but a Kendrick verse wouldve helped. Kendrick on the hook works good tho.
    12. Chaining Day B // Typical Cole sampled beat, reminds me of songs like ‘Autograph’. Concept is cool, but repetitive in terms of discussing vanity and past Cole songs. Sings the hook again but doesn’t sounds as bad. The beat switch and breakdown towards the end threw me off a little tho.
    13. Aint That Some shit (Interlude) D // Probably the worst track on the album. Really annoying beat IMO. Lyrics are really average and basically talks about nothing but fucking bitches.
    14. Crooked Smile A- // Another good single with a good message and feature.
    15. Let Nas Down B+ // This is the best ‘storytelling’ song on the album. Nice beat, production seems to be No I.D inspired and overall a good song.
    16. Born Sinner B // Just a really solid song. Nice cole beat with a good balance of drums synths and live instrumentation. The feature is nice too.
    Overall Im a bit disappointed with this album. In terms of lyrical content and subject matter there really was hardly and progression. I was anticipating a big improvement in production but for me it didn’t really show. The middle of the album is kind of a drag but he picks it up towards the end. It does seem this time around Cole got his singles right! But as far as the rest of the album its really just pretty average. I consider myself a big J. Cole fan and was hoping for more but for me it came up short.

  • Why did you rate Cole on this video though?

    Anyway nice interview.Much respect for both of these guys.Where’s pt 3?
    Loch Ft. @DJDooWop “Spaz Out” (official Music Video):

  • Leanin’

    @ayYyyy Thank u for a Good UNBIASED Review. See i Know YN and dem niggaz got Jay’s (Jayz And Jcole) dick so Far in they throats its Blocking their Ear canals and they Cant really Hear Correctly! So Thank you.

  • the komet

    Where’s the rest of the interview? WE WANT MORE!! WE WANT MORE!!

  • slick sick

    i’m enjoying this interview so much i dont want it to end

  • HK